Mission and Leadership


The mission of the American College of Gastroenterology Institute for Clinical Research and Education is to promote digestive health through education of the clinician, the patient and the public, to support clinical research and innovation in gastroenterology and hepatology, and to raise public awareness about prevention of digestive disease.

Founded in 1994, the ACG Institute for Clinical Research & Education has emerged as a major source of funding for patient care oriented gastroenterology research, and an active and effective sponsor of educational programming for consumers and physicians alike.


Under the ACG Bylaws, the ACG Institute Board of Directors is composed of the ACG Institute Director, a Board of Trustees representative (the College’s Vice President), the Chair of the ACG Research Committee, the Chair of the ACG Educational Affairs Committee, up to six At-Large members, and the ACG Executive Director. The ACG Institute Board of Directors is responsible for managing all the programs of the ACG Institute for Clinical Research & Education, including oversight of all patient and physician education programs of the Institute, public awareness campaigns on digestive health, and the awarding of clinical research grants.

ACG Institute Board of Directors

  • Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD, MPH, FACG, Chapel Hill, NC, ACG Institute Director
  • Mark B. Pochapin, MD, FACG, New York, NY, ACG Vice President
  • Jean-Paul Achkar, MD, FACG, Cleveland, OH, Chair, ACG Research Committee
  • Seth A. Gross, MD, FACG, New York, NY, Chair, ACG Educational Affairs Committee
  • Neena S. Abraham, M.D., MSc (Epid), FACG, Scottsdale, AZ
  • David A. Johnson, MD, MACG, Norfolk, VA
  • W. Elwyn Lyles, MD, FACG, Maryville, TN
  • David T. Rubin, MD, FACG, Chicago, IL
  • Harry E. Sarles, Jr., MD, FACG, Rockwall, TX
  • Zobair M. Younossi, MD, MPH, FACG, Fairfax, VA
  • Bradley C. Stillman, Esq., ACG Executive Director