J. Edward Berk Distinguished Lecture

Endoscopy 2020: Preparing for the Future

Kenneth K. Wang, MD, FACG

Tuesday, October 18 • 10:05–10:35 am • Venetian Ballroom F

Kenneth K. Wang, MD, FACG
Kenneth K. Wang, MD, FACG

The J. Edward Berk Distinguished lecture, “Endoscopy 2020: Preparing for the Future,” to be presented by Kenneth K. Wang, MD, FACG. The J. Edward Berk Distinguished Lecture is awarded to individuals prominent in gastroenterology or a related area.

Dr. Kenneth Wang received his BS from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and his MD from Wayne State University in Detroit. He completed his residency and fellowship in Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, where he is a staff member. Dr. Wang is the Kathy and Russ Van Cleve Professor of Gastroenterology Research.

Dr. Wang is recognized for his expertise and research in the field of Barrett’s Esophagus and early esophageal cancer which is funded by the National Institutes of Health. He is Director of Advanced Endoscopy, the Esophageal Neoplasia Clinic, the Barrett’s Esophagus Research Unit, and Co-Director of the GI Program Mayo Comprehensive Cancer Center at Mayo Clinic Rochester.

He has authored more than 286 journal articles, book chapters, and editorials related to Barrett’s Esophagus and esophageal neoplasia diagnosis, imaging, treatment and pathogenesis. His work in the field has been recognized by his appointment to review panels for the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and National Cancer Institute. Dr. Wang has served on extramural review committees for the NIH and NCI. Dr. Wang is President of the International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus, and is a Past President of the ASGE. He has served on the editorial boards of multiple journals including The American Journal of Gastroenterology, and Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

About the J. Edward Berk Distinguished Lecture: The J. Edward Berk Distinguished Lecturer, formerly known as the Stuart Lecturer, is a person prominent in gastroenterology or a related area. This individual is nominated by the President and the appointment is subject to approval by the Board of Trustees. This lectureship was established in recognition of the significant contributions made by J. Edward Berk, MD, MACG, to clinical gastroenterology during his long and distinguished clinical and academic career. A nationally and internationally renowned physician and teacher, Dr. Berk also served as ACG President from 1975-1976.