David T. Rubin, MD, FACG
David T. Rubin, MD, FACG

Recognizing Exceptional and Pioneering Contributions in Crohn’s Disease and Ulcerative Colitis

New Deadline: May 15

By David T. Rubin, MD, FACG, ACG Board of Trustees, Chair, Sherman Prize Selection Committee, University of Chicago Medicine

Do you know someone with an exceptional track record of achievement in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis? Many unheralded heroes in the GI community have made remarkable contributions advancing the areas of patient care, medical research, public service, and professional/public education in the field of Crohn’s and colitis. I am excited to share that you can recognize these heroes by nominating them for the second annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis, a program which seeks to recognize and honor pioneering achievements in Crohn’s disease and colitis. I’m honored to Chair this year’s selection committee and would love to see my fellow ACG members represented in the nominations.

Two Sherman Prizes of $100,000 each will be awarded to health care providers, medical researchers, public health advocates, or educators who possess extraordinary records of achievement addressing the challenges of IBD. In addition, a $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize will be awarded to an individual who demonstrates high potential in the field. These generous prizes are designed to provide flexible funding to award winners to advance their important work. The Sherman Prize is made possible by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, which established the Sherman Prize with the hope of inspiring greater advances in the understanding and treatment of these terrible diseases.


Many ACG members have worked relentlessly to improve the lives of people with IBD, and I encourage you to take this opportunity to shine a light on their work and  nominate a colleague for the Sherman Prize. The selection process requires that individuals to be nominated by others, so we are relying on peers and colleagues to identify and nominate individuals who merit this special recognition.

Here are a few more specifics about the prize:

  • Nominations will be accepted at ShermanPrize.org through May 15, 2017.
  • Nominees must live and work in the United States and must have demonstrated achievement in the last decade, with preference given to those who have made significant contributions to the field in the last two years.
  • Award winners will be announced in the summer of 2017.

The selection committee members and I can’t wait to see the outstanding nominations. We are confident that we will identify many candidates deserving recognition.

Visit www.ShermanPrize.org to submit a nomination and to learn more about the prize and last year’s recipients.