David T. Rubin, MD, FACG
David T. Rubin, MD, FACG

Sherman Prize Accepting Nominations of Outstanding IBD Professionals

Deadline: April 15, 2018

David T. Rubin, MD, FACG, Chair, Sherman Prize Selection Committee

Excellence. Inspiration. Hope. Pioneers. These words have become synonymous with the Sherman Prize, which rewards health care providers, medical researchers, public health advocates and educators who have made exceptional contributions in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

Nominations are now being accepted online at ShermanPrize.org for the third annual Sherman Prize cycle. I’m honored to Chair this year’s selection committee and would love to see my fellow ACG members represented in the nominations.

If you know someone who never gives up fighting for their IBD patients, who goes above and beyond to make life better for people with Crohn’s and ulcerative colitis, who never stops innovating, then now is the time to honor their achievements by nominating them for one of this year’s Sherman Prizes.

Two Sherman Prizes of $100,000 each will be awarded to individuals with extraordinary track records of achievement addressing the challenges of IBD, and a $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize will be awarded to an individual who demonstrates high potential. All prize recipients will also be featured in short videos that highlight their groundbreaking work. These stories of achievement are featured prominently on the new Sherman Prize website, in support of the mission to create a ripple effect of inspiration in the IBD community.

Here are a few more specifics about the prize:

  • The Sherman Prize will accept nominations through April 15, 2018 for individuals who have made significant, noteworthy contributions in patient care, medical research, public service and education.
  • Eligible individuals must live and work in the U.S., having accomplished their greatest achievements in the past decade. Greater emphasis will be placed on accomplishments made in the last few years.

To learn more about the Sherman Prize and previous recipients, and to nominate an exceptional individual, please visit ShermanPrize.org.

Submit a nomination and to learn more about the prize and last year’s recipients.

The Shermans and 2017 Sherman Prize Winners