To Advance to Fellow, you must meet certain requirements:

Since the College’s inception in the mid 1930’s, the designation of Fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology (FACG), has been bestowed upon select members in recognition of significant professional achievement and superior competence within the field of gastroenterology, pediatric gastroenterology, gastrointestinal surgery, gastrointestinal radiology, or gastrointestinal pathology. The FACG designation represents achievements that highlight your dedication to your profession.

To Advance to Fellow, you must meet certain requirements:

  • Demonstration of scholarly activities, which include continuing education experience, professional leadership, and excellence in the fields of clinical practice and/or academic medicine.
  • Current uninterrupted membership or international membership in the College for a period of no less than five years (post Resident/Trainee Membership).
  • Minimum of 3 distinct* ACG managed and sponsored CME courses within the last six years:
    • Three in-person meetings are required
    • *Attendance at multiple courses in the same meeting, e.g., PG Course and Annual Meeting, or Regional Meeting plus Hepatology School counts as one program
  • Evidence of ongoing involvement in ACG activities such as Committees, Courses, Annual Meeting attendance, etc.
  • Letters of recommendation by two Fellows of the College. The letters should, at a minimum, include:
    • How well you know the applicant (in what capacity, for how long, etc.)
    • Qualifications that justify Fellowship, specifically describing the applicant’s scope of practice, their strengths, including:
      • Research and publications
      • Teaching
      • Clinical care
      • Medical leadership
      • Community service related to Gastroenterology
    • The candidate’s integrity and moral character
    • Activities in the College, such as Committee service, presentations, etc.
    • A means of contact if the Committee has questions
  • Documentation of certification by one or more of the following specialty boards recognized by the Council on Graduate Medical Education of the American Medical Association: American Board of Internal Medicine (subspecialty Boards in Gastroenterology), or its equivalent, e.g., American Board of Pediatrics (subspecialty Board in Gastroenterology), American Board of Surgery, American Board of Radiology, American Board of Pathology, the American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine or the Canadian equivalent qualifications, Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons.
  • Application fee of $50
  • Annual Membership dues of $325

Benefits of Fellowship of ACG:

  • You can run for elected office on the Board of Governors
  • You can serve as the Chair of an ACG Committee
  • You can be nominated for the Board of Trustees
  • You can be nominated for a Master Award or the Samuel S. Weiss Award

Additional Benefits:

  • Add FACG in your title, on business cards, and on your CV
  • Recognition in the ACG Magazine, on the ACG website and at the Annual Meeting
  • Certificate of Advancement to Fellowship signed by the ACG President and Secretary

Members Who Advanced to Fellowship This Year

Badr Al-Bawardy, MD, FACG
Jordan E. Axelrad, MD, MPH, FACG
Lydia Aye, DO, FACG
Dilhana S. Badurdeen, MD, FACG
Noemi Baffy, MD, FACG
Mohammad Bilal, MD, FACG
Wojciech Blonski, MD, FACG
Jason M. Brown, MD, FACG
David Cangemi, MD, FACG
Amanda K. Cartee, MD, FACG
Avais M. Chatha, MD, FACG
Wei Chung Chen, MD, FACG
Austin Lee Chiang, MD, FACG
Umesh Choudhry, MD, FACG
Reezwana Chowdhury, MD, FACG
Keng-Yu Chuang, MD, FACG
Kenechukwu O. Chudy-Onwugaje, MD, FACG
John K. Corless, MD, FACG
Sunil Dacha, MD, FACG
Kara M. De Felice, MD, FACG
Jose Debes, MD, FACG
Jason A. Dominitz, MD, FACG
Yesenia Greeff, MD, FACG
Nitin K. Gupta, MD, FACG
John J. Hutchings, MD, FACG
John W. Jacobs, MD, FACG
Christopher M. Johnson, MD, FACG
Arundeep S. Kahlon, MD, FACG
Jennifer Katz, MD, FACG
Laurie A. Keefer, PhD, FACG
Dmitriy O. Khodorskiy, MD, FACG
Divyanshoo R. Kohli, MD, FACG
Rajesh K. Kumar, MD, FACG
Adam C. Lessne, MD, FACG
Geoffrey L. Metz, MD, FACG
Martin W. Moehlen, MD, FACG
Andrew M. Moon, MD, MPH, FACG
Neilanjan Nandi, MD, FACG
Vu Q. Nguyen, MD, FACG
Inessa Normatov, MD, FACG
Leybelis Padilla, MD, FACG
Sunhee Park, MD, FACG
Khola Qamar, MD, FACG
Atoosa Rabiee, MD, FACG
Md. Khalequzzaman Sarker, MD, FACG
Shervin Shafa, MD, FACG
Shamita B. Shah, MD, FACG
Daniel S. Strand, MD, FACG
Virendra Tewari, MD, FACG
Vivek M. Trivedi, MD, FACG
Fatema S. Uddin, MD, FACG
Stephen M. Vindigni, MD, FACG
Lavanya Viswanathan, MD, FACP, FACG
John Erikson L. Yap, MD, FACG