David T. Rubin, MD, FACG
David T. Rubin, MD, FACG

Sherman Prize, Inspiring Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis, Announces 2017 Award Recipients

By David T. Rubin, MD, FACG, ACG Board of Trustees, University of Chicago Medicine

The winners of the second annual Sherman Prizes were announced last week. Established in 2016 by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, the Sherman Prize “is the first prize of its kind to honor outstanding individuals who go above and beyond to make exceptional contributions in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.”

Each year, two Sherman Prizes of $100,000 are awarded to individuals with extraordinary records of achievement addressing the challenges of IBD. A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is also awarded annually to an individual who demonstrates high potential.

As Chair of the Sherman Prize Selection Committee, which I served on with ACG Vice President Sunanda V. Kane, MD, MSPH, FACG, and ACG Treasurer Mark B. Pochapin, MD, FACG, I am proud to share this news with you and to recognize the recipients for improving care for our patients with IBD.

Read more about the Sherman Prize and this year’s recipients at ShermanPrize.org.

Stephan R. Targan, MD: Driving New Paradigms in IBD Research That Led to Major Treatment Breakthroughs Benefiting Millions Living with IBD

Dr. Stephan Targan, Director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars-Sinai, is recognized with a Sherman Prize for his work as a collegial integrator who has assembled world-class teams to hasten IBD discoveries and treatment breakthroughs.


2017 Sherman Prize Recipients

Lee A. Denson, MD: Significantly Improving Pediatric Remission Rates and Leading Research to Identify Underlying IBD Causes and Potential Therapies

Dr. Lee Denson, Director of the Schubert-Martin IBD Center at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, is recognized with a Sherman Prize for his achievements in significantly improving pediatric remission rates and leading research to identify underlying IBD causes and potential therapies.


Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C: Improving Outcomes for Underserved, Rural Patients

Ms. Heidi Drescher, of the Community Physician Group, Community Medical Center in Missoula, MT, receives the Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for her work providing exceptional care to rural, underserved patients across a wide geographical area in Montana.